University of Paris

University Colleges and Facilities
(Paris, France)

The University of Paris has 13 autonomous universities, namely:


Specialising in Humanities and Social Science, this enormous university has 14 teaching and research departments as well as five institutes, some of which occupy the Sorbonne's original university buildings. The three main departments at the university are: Economics and Management; Humanities; and Law and Political Science. Institutes include: Institute for the Study of Economic and Social Development (IEDES); Paris Demography Institute (IDUP); Institute for Research and Advanced Studies in Tourism (IREST); and Institute of Labour Studies (ISST).


This elite university is primarily a centre of Law and Business, while also focusing on the study of Administration, Social and Political Science. Known as the Harvard of France, this institute has been responsible for producing many prominent politicians including Francois Mitterrand, former President of the French Republic.

Sorbonne Nouvelle

Located mainly in the Censier buildings, this university is one of the three main heirs to the original Sorbonne. Also known as the New Sorbonne, Paris III, the university was established in 1970 and has become a primary centre for the study of cinema, media studies, languages, linguistics, literary and theatre studies.


Focusing mainly on the Arts and Sciences, this university plays a strong role in promoting the cultural heritage of the Sorbonne, with disciplines falling in the literary and human science fields on offer. The study of Classics and is also prominent.

René Descartes

This university specialises in the study of Medical Sciences including Medicine, Pharmacy, Dentistry; Psychology; Mathematics; Law; and Sport.

Pierre & Marie Curie

Located in the Latin quarter and taking its name from the Nobel Prize winners, Pierre & Marie Curie is a hub of learning for those in the field of Medicine and Science. Ranking as one of the top 10 universities in Europe, the institute has over 180 laboratories.

Denis Diderot

Offering courses in Humanities, Science and Medicine, this university is spread out across the city, making use of more than a dozen facilities. The headquarters of the university has just relocated to a new campus in the 13th arrondissement.


With a reputation for attracting radicals, Vincennes-Saint-Denis has a prestigious philosophy department, whose reputation was in the past tarnished through a scandal involving Judith Miller, a teacher at the time. Nowadays, the university has some start-of-the art buildings and offers courses in Mathematics, Human Sciences and Social Sciences.


Established as a faculty of economic and management sciences, Dauphine has a highly selective admissions process. Departments include Economics, Applied Economics, Mathematics and the Science of Organisations.


Famous for being the centre of the May 1968 student rebellion, Nanterre offers one of the largest campuses in France and courses in Teacher Training, Social Sciences, Philosophy, Foreign Languages and Civilisations, Humanities, History, Acting, Cinema, Economics, Legal and Political Sciences, Physical Activities and Sports.


Located in Orsay, a southern arrondissement of Paris, this university focuses on the study of Science, and offers large laboratories for the study of Particle Physics. It also has faculties of Medicine and Pharmacy.


Taking its name after the southeastern department of Paris, this university provides for the study of Science and Technology, Economics, Human Science, Medicine, Social Science and the Science of Education.


Spread across three campuses: Villetaneuse, Saint-Denis, Bobigny, this university focuses on the study of the Sciences.

Paris University

I'm looking for: